xinjiang uighur pray

22 countries wrote a joint letter on Wednesday condemning Beijing’s oppression of the Uighurs, a Muslim minority living in western China.
China has installed an unparalleled 21st century police state in the Xinjiang region, where Uighurs are heavily surveilled and detained en masse.
None of the countries that signed the condemnation were from the Islamic world.
Islamic countries have increasingly shied away from criticizing China over Xinjiang, for reasons including the fear of China’s economic vengeance.
Visit Business Insider’s homepage for more stories.

22 countries have banded together to condemn China’s oppression of its Muslim minority, in what activists called an “unprecedented move.” But Muslim countries were conspicuously absent from the statement as the Islamic world continues to turn a blind eye.

In the Wednesday letter, written by UN Human Rights Council member states, the signatories called on China to “refrain from the arbitrary detention and restrictions on freedom of movement of Uighurs, and other Muslim and minority communities in Xinjiang.”

Those 22 signatories are: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the UK.

The US did not sign the letter, having quit the Human Rights Council last …read more

Source:: Businessinsider – Politics


(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *