Welcome toMoney Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Today: an attorney who makes $100,000 per year ($409,000 when combined with her husband) and spends some of her money this week on a new pair of Chacos.

Occupation: Attorney
Industry: Legal
Age: 30
Location: Seattle, WA
Salary: $80,000 + bonus (~$20,000)
My Husband’s Salary: $309,000
Paycheck Amount (Biweekly): $1,931.83
My Husband’s Paycheck Amount (Monthly): about $19,000
Rental Income: $11,000-$14,000 annually

Monthly Expenses
Mortgage: $3,447 (The mortgage itself is $2,827.49, and the rest is taxes/insurance. This is more than we wanted to pay for a house, but we had a hard time finding a cheaper house that didn’t require a lot of work. We justify the higher mortgage by renting out the backyard cottage that came with the house on Airbnb.)
My Husband’s Car Payment: $622
My Husband’s Student Loans: $1,350 (I had a full scholarship to law school.)
Utilities: $282
Internet: $81
Health Insurance: $390 for my husband. My work pays for mine.
Umbrella/Life/Car Insurance: $282
HSA: $288
Retirement: $6,250 transferred automatically to our retirement accounts
Hulu: $11.99
Spotify: $9.99
Cell Phones: $110
Charitable Donations: $75/month in automatic payments.
Savings: Right …read more


Source:: Refinery29

      

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *